Specialist Accreditation

Your calling card

Singapore Academy of Law's 
Specialist Accreditation Scheme

Latest Updates

Accredited Specialists in Maritime and Shipping Law

Accredited Specialists in Data and Digital Economy Law

1 July 2023 — Applications to be a Senior Accredited Specialist in Maritime and Shipping Law and Data and Digital Economy (D2E) Law are open to lawyers and inhouse counsel (for D2E Law only).

Lawyers and inhouse counsel need to have at least 10 years' of general practice experience and at least 5 years' of practice experience in the practice area for which they are seeking specialist  accreditation.

All the necessary information can be found in:

Information Guide for Applicants - General AND
Information Guide for Applicants - Maritime and Shipping Law (updated 14 August 2023)
Information Guide for Applicants - Data and Digital Economy Law (updated 14 August 2023)

CLOSING DATE: 31 August 2023

For queries, please email [email protected].

Senior Accredited Specialists and Accredited Specialists in Building and Construction Law

Senior Accredited Specialists and Accredited Specialists in Data and Digital Economy Law

13 February 2023 — The latest group of Building and Construction and Data and Digital Economy Law specialists on 13 February 2023 received their Certificate of Accreditation from the Chair of the Specialist Accreditation Board, Justice Kannan Ramesh, at a certificate presentation ceremony. 

The ceremony was preceded by a seminar "Emerging Commercial and Litigation Trends in Data Sovereignty and Digital Assets" with the opening remarks by Justice Ramesh and moderated by Mr Yeong Zee Kin, Deputy Commissioner of the Personal Data Protection Commission. He was joined by an esteemed panel comprising Jennifer Koo of Google, Rajesh Sreenivasan of Rajah & Tann and Bryan Tan of Reed Smith. The panel tackled the latest and novel issues surrounding data flows and its management and how data sovereignty is implemented through policy, regulation and international standards. They also discussed legal issues relating to transactions of crypto assets, and rights and ownership disputes.

The Specialist Accreditation Scheme congratulates all newly accredited specialists:

Building and Construction Law

Senior Accredited Specialists

  • Lynette Chew, CMS Holborn Asia
  • Kirindeep Singh, Dentons Rodyk & Davidson LLP
  • Tan Tian Luh, Chancery Law Corporation
  • Yong Boon On, Eldan Law LLP

Accredited Specialists

  • Ang Minghao, Legis Point LLC
  • Ching Meng Hang, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
  • Daniel Ho,Baker McKenzie.Wong & Leow
  • Kelvin Kek,Allen & Gledhill LLP<
  • Amanda Koh Jia Yi, Eldan Law LLP
  • Valerie Koh, WongPartnership LLP
  • Magdalene Ong Li Min, WongPartnership LLP
  • Reuben Gavin Peter, Dentons Rodyk & Davidson LLP

Data and Digital Economy Law

Senior Accredited Specialists

  • Benjamin Cheong, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
  • Lam Chung Nian, WongPartnership LLP
  • Rajesh Sreenivasan, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
  • Bryan Tan, Reed Smith LLP
  • Lionel Tan, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
  • Steve Tan Keng Joo, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
  • Tan Wee Meng, Allen & Gledhill LLP

Accredited Specialists

  • Lam Zhen Guang, Clyde & Co Clasis
  • Justin Lee, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
  • Lim Seng Siew, OTP Law Corporation
  • Alex Toh, Baker McKenzie Wong & Leow



The Singapore Academy of Law's Specialist Accreditation Scheme (the "Scheme") confers recognition of a legal practitioner's expertise and experience in a specialised area of law. It is an assessment process which requires a legal practitioner to show evidence of his or her knowledge and expertise in their chosen area of specialisation. Specialist accreditation is a voluntary and an individual endeavour.

The Scheme's purpose is to:

  • recognise the high level of proficiency of legal practitioners in their chosen practice area and promote continued personal professional development and improvement
  • incentivise younger legal practitioners to hone their skills and knowledge
  • provide the legal industry and general public with a reliable means of identifying and accessing legal practitioners who have proven themselves as possessing the requisite skills and knowledge in a practice area
  • promote continued development and improve the standard, quality and delivery of legal services

The Scheme aims to build an exhaustive directory of Accredited Specialists and Senior Accredited Specialists for the benefit of users of legal services.

To gain a better understanding of the Scheme’s framework, the papers for the respective practice areas can be found here:

Legal practitioners interested in being accredited may apply to be:

  • An Accredited Specialist (for legal practitioners with more than 5 year's PQE) OR
  • A Senior Accredited Specialist (for legal practitioners with more than 10 year's PQE)